Love

I watched a TV show this morning where two of the main characters were getting married, and their friends threw them a big pre-nuptials feast. There was a big thing about their relationship and upcoming wedding being a ‘fairytale’ and while it was nice to watch, it didn’t ring true for me. I’m in the happiest relationship I could ever have imagined, but in no way is it or has it ever been a fairytale. Instead it’s real life, and there are times of amazing romance but I’ve never been swept off my feet in the hollywood style. And in all honesty, I prefer it that way. When we first fell in love with each other I expected it to be like that, all sparkle and magic and romance. But it wasn’t. I get tingles when he kisses me, and I love spending time with him and I adore almost everything about him. But it’s not a fairytale. There are arguments, and hard times, and stresses and heartbreakingly sad things we go through. But that’s real. My relationship with nature is much the same. I’ve sat on a beach on a beautiful sunlit evening and smiled and felt amazing and happy. Likewise, I’ve sought out the forest in the pouring rain and wind, crying and screaming ‘Hail!’ into the surroundings.

Don’t misunderstand me, I’m not saying there aren’t fairytale moments in a relationship. The first kiss is one, perhaps a proposal another. And most certainly the wedding is, if there is one. The fairytale element in love, I suppose, is the fact that it’s quite amazing that at any one time, two people can feel the exact same way about each other. I thought I would never find that. There is immense pleasure and happiness in that.

I suppose nothing is how it looks from the outside looking in, whether that’s Hollywood or television or anything else. To really understand something you have to feel it.

One thought on “Love

Leave a Reply

