Bye Bye Betsy

So a week or so ago, I suddenly realised that the first gear on my car, a rather ancient red Ford Fiesta (named Betsy), wouldn’t engage. “Whoops,” I thought, “better get this to a garage.” So, yesterday I did just that and took it to my local garage for them to have a look at it. I wasn’t overly worried because although I knew it could be something serious (read, expensive), I also knew it could just as easily be something relatively simple, like a snapped gear linkage rod or something. A couple of hours after I dropped it off, I rang them to see if they’d figured out what it was.

In short, the gearbox is naffed and to get it replaced would cost more than the car is worth. Fan-bloody-tastic. So then I found myself in the rather uneviable position of having to look for another car – with no money. Great. Being a bit of an emotional gal, I found myself in tears for the rest of the afternoon in consternation at what on earth I was supposed to do now. Then my nan phoned, and hearing me wailing in the background, immediately offered her financial assistance. Now usually, I would thank her and not take it, but in this position I have no choice and she will get the money back from me in instalments. With this in mind, Dad and I will be heading out in the morning to look at some cheap cars in the local area. Hopefully I’ll be back on the road ASAP. It’ll be sad scrapping my poor little Betsy, but what else can I do? I’ve had three fabulous years with her, and it’s time to welcome a new automobile into my life. Oh well, with a heavy heart and an unhappy bank balance, it’s bye bye Betsy.

Leave a Reply

